Co-sponsored with The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)

OutcomesPurpose/MotivationWorkshop AgendaContributors
Image of the report cover

Read Event Summary More Information Download Report

High Priority Topics

Through roundtable discussions, workshop participants identified the following topics as high priority areas of research:

  1. Modeling to accelerate materials and process development
  2. Next-generation conductive materials
  3. Smart manufacturing/digital thread of materials
  4. Joining of dissimilar materials
  5. Reinventing Qualification
  6. Nondestructive evaluation
  7. Smart materials

Content from the workshop are available in the a final report which can be freely downloaded from the TMS website. It has also been made available in hardcopy form to all attendees of the workshop, as well as other stakeholders and groups selected by the organizers.

MForesight’s overarching vision is to accelerate technological innovation and align R&D opportunities with national priorities to enhance U.S. manufacturing competitiveness, with a focus on next generation technologies that will strengthen U.S. manufacturing. Professional societies can play an important role to help achieve this vision, particularly by convening key stakeholders through workshops and producing and disseminating reports to guide the community in the development of gamechanging manufacturing technologies of the future. This MForesight workshop, convened in collaboration with TMS, is focused on forecasting and harnessing major materials science and engineering (MS&E) innovations that will unlock new opportunities for the next wave of manufacturing.

Thursday, October 12, 2017
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

8:15 – 8:45 AM

Workshop Registration and Badge Pick-up

8:45 – 9:00 AM

Opening Remarks

9:00 – 10:00 AM

Plenary Session: GE Perspectives on Material-Manufacturing Innovations and Intersections, Dr. Luana Iorio, General Manager, Materials & Process Engineering, GE Aviation

10:00 – 10:15 AM


10:15 – 11:30 AM

Identifying Opportunity Areas for Large Societal Benefits, that are Enabled by Manufacturing Breakthroughs

Focus Question: What are the most significant opportunities for materials innovations to unlock the next wave of U.S. manufacturing?

Evaluation criteria for game-changing opportunities:

  1. Leads to manufacturing process improvement in next 5-10 years
  2. Provides taxpayer return on investment (ROI)
  3. Requires public support for pre-competitive investment
  4. Favors U.S. advantage using existing/available resources

11:30 – 12:30 PM


12:30 – 2:30 PM

Breakout Sessions: Identify Recommendations for Addressing Top-Priority Opportunities

Focus Questions:

  1. What recommended actions or technology breakthroughs can allow U.S. Manufacturers to capture this opportunity?
  2. Why should we invest in this opportunity area, and the recommended technology breakthroughs (e.g., economic impacts, other societal impacts)?

2:30 – 3:00 PM


3:00 – 3:45 PM


3:45 – 4:00 PM

Closing Remarks & Next Steps

Thank you to all the participants!

  • Iver Anderson, Senior Metallurgist & Adjunct Professor, Ames Laboratory & Iowa State University
  • Kevin Anderson, Brunswick Senior Fellow, Brunswick Corporation
  • Craig Brice, Research Scientist, Lockheed Martin Space Systems
  • Brett Conner, Associate Professor, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Dept.; Director of the Advanced Manufacturing Workforce Initiatives, Youngtown State University
  • Glenn Daehn, Fontana Professor, Materials Science and Engineering; Executive Director of the Ohio Manufacturing Institute; MForesight, Leadership Council member, Ohio State University & MForesight
  • Ryan DeHoff, Deposition Science and Technology Group Leader, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Susan Fiore, Advanced Applications Manager, Hobart Brothers Company
  • Richard Fonda, Program Officer (ONR) & Section Head (NRL), Office of Naval Research (ONR) & Naval Research Laboratory (NRL)
  • Kathy Flores, Professor and Associate Director of Institute of Materials Science and Engineering, Washington University of St. Louis
  • Erica Fuchs, Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Adam Hehr, Research Engineer, Fabrisonic LLC
  • Ed Herderick, Director – Additive Manufacturing, Ohio State University Center for Design and Manufacturing Excellence (CDME)
  • Luana Iorio, General Manager, Materials & Process Engineering, GE Aviation
  • Matthew Kiser, Steel Technology Steward, Caterpillar Inc.
  • Robert Klug, Consulting Engineer, Solar Turbines
  • Martin Koerdel, Research Group Head, Siemens Energy
  • John Lewandowski, Arthur P Armington Professor of Engineering; Director – Advanced Manufacturing and Mechanical Reliability Center, Case Western Reserve University
  • Alexis Lewis, Program Director, National Science Foundation
  • Todd Palmer, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Professor of Engineering Science and Mechanics; Director of CISP, Penn State University
  • Tresa Pollock, ALCOA Distinguished Professor, Materials, University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Manuel Marya, Materials Engineering Manager & Principal Engineer, Schlumberger Technology Corporation
  • Bryce Meredig, Co-founder and Chief Scientist, Citrine Informatics
  • Mark Norfolk, Research Engineer, Fabrisonic LLC
  • Warren Poole, Professor and Department Head; Rio Tinto Alcan Chair in Materials Process Engineering, University of British Columbia
  • Siddiq Qidwai, Program Director, National Science Foundation
  • Babak Raeisinia, Scientist, Novelis
  • Mark Rhoads, Consulting Engineer, Materials, GE Aviation
  • Brian Rosenberger, Fellow, Advanced Manufacturing & Materials, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
  • Ken Sandhage, Reilly Professor of Materials Engineering, Purdue University
  • Andrew Sherman Founder, President & CEO, Powdermet Inc
  • Neeraj Thirumalai, Materials Integrity and Performance; Corporate Strategic Research, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering
  • Tia Benson Tolle, Director, Materials and Fabrication, BCA Product Development, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
  • Chuck Ward, Chief, Manufacturing and Industrial Technologies Division, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Emma White, Associate Scientist, Iowa State University & Ames Laboratory
  • Lloyd Whitman, Acting Leader, Technology and Innovation Division, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)
  • Jennifer Wolk, Program Officer, Office of Naval Research
  • JC Zhao, Professor and Associate Chair, Materials Science Engineering (The Ohio State University); Program Director (DOE – ARPA-E)